Syros, with 20,000 inhabitants, has the largest population of all the Cyclades islands. It covers an area of 84 square kilometers.

The island’s capital is Ermoupolis, which is also the administrative seat of the Cyclades and home to a range of public services such as courts, fire department, chamber of commerce, customs, tax service, and regional subdivisions of the state agriculture, forestry, education, fishing, and commerce departments.

Ermoupolis covers an area of nearly 1,000 acres and has a population of 13,000; its area include the Manna district.

The vibrant town of Ano Syros has a total population of 1,700 that’s engaged primarily in trade, agriculture, stockbreeding, bee-keeping, tourism, and the merchant marine.  

The main villages of the island are Galissas, Chroussa, Poseidonia, Vari and Foinikas. Poseidonia is marked by stately mansions built in the 19th century as the summer homes of the rich merchants who comprised Greece’s first urban class.


By Boat

The port of Syros is connected daily with Piraeus, the rest of the Cyclades and the Dodecanese with coastal ferry routes.

By Plan

The airport of Syros "Dimitrios Vikelas" offers flights to Syros with regular air routes from Athens and Thessaloniki.

For further information please visit: