European Governance, Μigration and Citizenship - GovArt2019

SCHOOL OF SOCIAL SCIENCES - Department of Sociology
8 Jul 2019 to 18 Jul 2019

The title of the Summer School of the GovUnet Network for July 2019 is "European Governance, Μigration and Citizenship". The main objective of the Summer School is the contribution of the European Union to the international debate on governance, which is based on the democratization of the decision-making process.

The Summer School program this year will seek to link the European Union as an international player with European Governance and its stakeholders (institutions, Member States, non-state actors, actors in the broad public sphere) Migration) and the formation of direct political institutions between the citizen and the EU.

Europe has always been a major global player on a range of issues of general interest. This position gives the EU the right to participate in the international governance debate with a significant contribution: support for the establishment of governance, which is appropriate for every society in the world and responds to the challenges of the 21st century, can renew the European Development Cooperation Policy and provide a privileged area for coordinating the actions of the Community's partners.

The Summer School, offering a multitude of teaching and learning methods, consisting of highly interactive activities (seminars, workshops, round tables, panels etc.) takes place every July at the island of Lesbos. Its main objective is to provide an in depth analysis of the meaning and applications of European governance.

The group of collaborating professors of the GovUnet with excellent teaching and research experience in this area constitutes a safeguard for the success of the objectives of the Summer School. 

This year's Summer School offers 3 ECTS to the participants who will complete the attendance of the Summer School and the final examination process.

Erasmus+ Jean Monnet Networks project GovUnet (Governance, Pluralism and Trans-Nationalisation in Europe) 





University of the Aegean - coordinator, Professor Panagiotis GRIGORIOU 

University of Luxembourg, Professor Philippe POIRIER                              

Catholic University of Louvain, Professor Piere VERCAUTEREN               

University of Piraeus, Professor Foteini ASDERAKI                                    

University of Cadiz, Professor Alejandro DEL VALLE GALVEZ                    

University of Siegen, Prof. Dr. Raphaela AVERKORN                                   

University Babes Bolyai, Associate Habilitated Professor Sergiu MISCOIU 

Panteion University, Ass.Professor Maria Daniella MAROUDA